Regions in Ethiopia

Ethiopia is made up of 11 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Ethiopia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Ethiopia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Ethiopia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Ethiopia

There are 11 regions in Ethiopia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Ethiopia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Addis Ababa Addis Ababa1.3,774,000Addis Ababa Addis Ababa2,757,729
Afar Afar Region2.1,152,300Semera Semera833
Amhara Amhara Region3.21,134,988Bahir Dar Bahir Dar332,856
Binshangul Gumuz Benishangul-Gumuz Region4.1,127,001Asosa Āsosa30,512
Dire Dawa Dire Dawa Region5.493,000Dire Dawa Dire Dawa277,000
Gambela Gambela Region6.435,999Gambela Gambēla42,366
Harari Harari Region7.246,000Harar Harar153,000
Oromiya Oromiya Region8.35,467,001--
SNNPR Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People's Region9.9,126,000Hawassa Hawassa403,288
Somali Somali Region10.11,748,998Jijiga Jijiga483,000
Tigray Tigray Region11.5,443,000Mek'ele Mek'ele436,910